Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Fri 26 Oct 2007

Where: Central Auckland, Wellesley St, Auckland


Related Artists:

Listed by: NZSO

The tiny repertoire of concertos for timpani is boosted by what will undoubtedly prove a demanding and illustrious addition from award-winning New Zealand composer John Psathas. Mozart's popular Piano Concerto in A major, K 488, from the mid-1780s Marriage of Figaro era, communicates joy tinged with sadness, that perennial human condition. After an aborted 1905 revolution in Russia, Rachmaninov escaped to the stability offered by Dresden. The Second Symphony, the most expansive and, due to its lyrical emotion, best loved of the three was the first work composed there in 1906.

Psathas Commission for Timpani and Orchestra
Mozart Piano Concerto No 23 K488
Rachmaninov Symphony No 2

Edo De Waart Conductor
Sa Chen Piano
Laurence Reese Timpani

Visit our website for great subscriber benefits.