Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Takács Quartet: Greatest Quartet in the World


Sat 26 Jul 2008, 8:00pm–10:00pm

Where: James Hay Theatre, 86 Kilmore St, Christchurch

Ticket Information:

  • Adult A Reserve: $70.00 ea
  • Adult B Reserve: $60.00 ea
  • Adult C Reserve: $40.00 ea
  • Additional fees may apply

10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.

Related Artists:

Listed by: SWPR Ltd

Acclaimed as “the greatest string quartet in the world”, the internationally renowned Takács Quartet returns to New Zealand in July for a concert in Christchurch's James Hay Theatre as part of Chamber Music New Zealand’s 2008 season.

Since its formation in 1975 in Budapest, Hungary, the Takács Quartet has been acclaimed around the world and won numerous awards including four Gramophone Awards and a Grammy Award.

“They are currently the greatest string quartet in the world.” The Guardian (UK), 2006

Founded by Gabor Takács-Nagy, Károly Schranz, Gabor Ormai and András Fejér, the ensemble has had periodic changes with the most recent being Geraldine Walther, long-time Principal violist of the San Francisco Symphony. Károly Schranz (violin) and András Fejér (cello) are both still members of the quartet and will be touring to New Zealand.

The quartet has been quartet-in-residence at The University of Colorado since 1983 and is also resident quartet at the Aspen Music Festival and School. They perform in concert halls throughout the world with a repertoire ranging from Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert to Bartok, Britten, Dutilleux and Janacek.

“The Takács Quartet has the ability to make you believe that there’s no other possible way the music should go and the strength to overturn preconceptions that comes only with the greatest performers”. Harriet Smith - Gramophone Magazine

The performance programme for the New Zealand tour includes the world premiere of a new quartet by Wellington composer John Psathas.

Chamber Music New Zealand commissioned John to write a new work for the internationally-renowned quartet and John says the new piece ‘A Cool Wind’ aims to trigger the compassionate side of human nature.

“In essence this work embodies a struggle to keep hoping, to continue aspiring.”

Chamber Music New Zealand acknowledges major funding from Creative New Zealand. The Takacs Quartet tour is supported by the Turnovsky Endowment Trust.

Restaurants to book near Takács Quartet: Greatest Quartet in the World