You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Tue 6 May 2008, 8:00pm–10:00pm

Where: James Hay Theatre, 86 Kilmore St, Christchurch

Ticket Information:

  • Adult 'A' Reserve: $55.00
  • Adult 'B' Reserve: $45.00
  • Adult 'C' Reserve: $35.00
  • Student Rush: $15.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Listed by: SWPR Ltd

The magical combination of flute, harp and viola come together in a series of concerts in April and May by three internationally-renowned musicians as part of Chamber Music New Zealand's 2008 season.

Foremost harpist Yolanda Kondonassis joins leading flutist Alexa Still and well-known violist Roger Chase to perform at the James Hay Theatre on Tuesday 6 May as part of a 10 centre tour.

Still/Chase/Kondonassis first performed at the 2004 Tucson Winter Chamber Music Festival in Arizona, USA and features former New Zealand Symphony Orchestra principal flutist Alexa Still with world-renowned harpist Yolanda Kondonassis and former London Sinfonietta prinicipal violist Roger Chase.

Alexa Still needs little introduction to New Zealand audiences as she was the principal flutist for the NZSO for 11 years. She has gone on to win numerous competitions, gained a masters and doctorate degree and she is now based in Sydney where she is Head of Flute at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney.

Roger Chase served as the principal violist of the London Sinfonietta for 10 years, has taught at the Royal College of Music, the Guildhall School and he currently teaches at the Chicago College of Performing Arts.
Yolanda Kondonassis is recognised as one of the world's foremost harpists. She has performed both as a concerto soloist and recitalist throughout the United States, the Far East and Europe and has been hailed by the New York Times as a harpist with “powerful playing and musicianly energy”.

The concert programme takes advantage of the magical combination of flute, harp and viola creates an array of sounds and textures ranging from soaring lyricism to a mystical other-worldliness.

The programme includes works by Toru Takemitsu and Richard Rodney Bennett and culminate in Debussy’s ravishing Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp. Takemitsu exploits the full spectrum of tone colours in his nature-inspired work, and Bennett draws directly on Debussy’s evocative solo flute masterpiece in his Sonata After Syrinx and further explores the French flute tradition with exquisite miniatures by Debussy, Ravel and Satie. For further information and bookings visit

Chamber Music New Zealand acknowledges major funding from Creative New Zealand.


"This listener found himself so involved in the music at hand that (Still's) technical sureness and musical intensity were noticed only in retrospect." – New York Times

"The music was brought to life by the outstanding expressive eloquence of Roger Chase's playing." – The Sunday Times (UK)

"Strongly assertive, clean and keenly defined . . . (Kondonassis has) an impressive musical talent." – Houston Post (USA)


Takemitsu - And Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind
Debussy - Syrinx for solo flute
Richard Rodney Bennett - Sonata after Syrinx
Bax - Elegiac Trio (1916)
Debussy - Arabesque No 1
Jongen - Danse lente for flute and harp Opus 56
Rave - Pavane for a Dead Princess for viola and harp
Helen Fisher - Matairangi-2
Debussy - Sonata for flute, viola and harp (1915)

Restaurants to book near Still/Chase/Kondonassis