You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
SmokeFreeRockQuest Finals


Fri 5 Sep 2008, 8:00pm

Where: Christchurch Town Hall, 86 Kilmore St, Christchurch

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $20.00
  • Additional fees may apply

The twentieth anniversary Smokefreerockquest finals promise a varied celebration of young Kiwi music talent, with the six national finalists covering the field from hardcore to harmonies.

Over 700 bands played off in 40 heats and finals around the country over winter, with the final selection from DVDs of the bands’ original music, judged by independent music producer Clint Murphy and Tania Dean from NZ on Air.

Six bands will play off at the Christchurch Town Hall on Friday 5 September, followed on Saturday night by a retro concert featuring some of the country’s top bands who started their careers in Smokefreerockquest.

In north to south order the finalists are:

Jicky Chan, a six piece band with a funky reggae dub sound from Kawarau College, made up of five Year 13 musicians and ‘their baby’, Year 11 vocalist Jordan Whakaruru. They have been playing together for three years, and won the national final of Pacifica Beats in 2006 under the name The Jick.

Jayme Fitzgerald, singer-songwriter from Tauhara College Taupo. Jayme has been playing guitar for some time and picked up piano last year. She is putting out her first CD of music - with a strong Jack Johnson influence.

The Stray Dogs, a three piece from Wellington with a rockabilly sound. Band members are drummer Benjamin Wattie and guitarist Jess Sheehan both from Wellington College, and bass player Patrick Stewart from Wellington High School.

Beneath the Silence, Canterbury hardcore fivepiece with four guys and one girl. The line up is Brook Williamson, vocals, Kaiapoi High School; Mark Woodcock, guitar, Rangiora High School; Hamish McIntosh, drums, Sophia Di, guitar and Nic Rollinson, bass, all from Cashmere High School.

New York Minutes, Timaru four piece indie-rock band with members James Gibb, guitar; Peter Scott, vocals/guitar; Kieran Ormandy, drums; Isaac McFarlane, bass; all from Timaru Boys’ High School.

The Slur Tones, an indie three piece from Wanaka, in Smokefreerockquest for the fourth time. Made up of guitarist Fabian Shaw and bass player Yannick Weastell, plus their new drummer, Alistair Mawhinney, a hosteller (boarder) from Auckland - all from Mount Aspiring College.

Tickets can be purchased from the venue as presales and door sales on the night.

At stake is the first prize of $10,000 worth of music gear and recording time, plus almost guaranteed recognition by the music industry. The other awards made at the finals reinforce the key Smokefreerockquest aim of encouraging students to write and perform their own music.

Individual prizes are awarded for best lyrics, best vocals, women’s musicianship and the best song.

A scholarship to the Tai Poutini contemporary music course is also awarded.

Restaurants to book near SmokeFreeRockQuest Finals