You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Sat 28 Aug 2010, 8:00pm

Where: Christchurch Town Hall, 86 Kilmore St, Christchurch

Restrictions: All Ages

Related Artists:

Christchurch Symphony Orchestra presents Lamb & Hayward Masterworks Series: Feng Ning.

Glazunov's Violin Concerto Opus 82 in A minor is the perfect showcase for the phenomenal talents of international award winning Chinese violinist, Feng Ning.

Winner of dozens of prestigious prizes including the Premio Paganini Violin Competition in Italy in 2006 and the Michael Hill International Violin Competition in New Zealand in 2005, Feng Ning stunned audiences when he appeared with CSO in 2008 and we are delighted he makes his return in this exquisite programme.

Sir William Southgate, CSO Conductor Laureate, continues his long Beethoven association with this orchestra, with the composer's Symphony No. 2.

New Zealand composers dominate the second half with Sir William Southgate's arrangement of Larry Pruden's Soliloquy for Strings, followed by the rhapsodic and romantic Symphony No. 2 by Douglas Lilburn.

Conductor: Sir William Southgate
Feature Artist: Feng Ning (violin)

Beethoven: Symphony No. 2
Glazunov: Violin Concerto
Larry Pruden arr. Sir William Southgate: Soliloquy for Strings
Lilburn: Symphony No. 2

Restaurants to book near Feng Ning