You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Thu 16 Sep 2010, 6:30pm

Where: Christchurch Town Hall, 86 Kilmore St, Christchurch

Listed by: NZSO

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra (NZSO) with special guests Alexander Shelley and Colin Currie present Soundscapes, at the Christchurch Town Hall as a part of the Radio Network Tour.

Alexander Shelley - conductor
Colin Currie - percussion

The Programme will include:
• Britten - Peter Grimes Four Sea Interludes
• Macmillan - Veni, Veni, Emmanuel
• Ravel - Pavane for a dead princess
• Strauss - Death and Transfiguration

Scottish composer James MacMillan’s heaven-and-earth-shaking percussion concerto Veni, Veni, Emmanuel has become a contemporary classic, electrifying audiences with its savage joy.

From quiet heartbeats to an explosive, dancing finale, this concerto is a stunning demonstration of soloist Colin Currie’s skill and athleticism: he plays dozens of drums, gongs, marimba and bells.

If the MacMillan and Strauss works are about the struggles of the soul, Britten takes us to a place where human cares disappear into insignificance. His Four Sea Interludes are studies of the moods of nature: the huge skies of Suffolk at morning and night, a tumultuous storm, the glitter of the waves and Sunday bells.

Strauss’ visionary Death and Transfiguration imagines nothing less than death and the hereafter. Strauss places us beside the bed of our hero as he takes his final breath, surveys his life and begins his journey to eternity. The power of a vast orchestra and arcing melody lifts us all to heaven in a blaze of brass.

Tickets will be available from Ticketek.

Restaurants to book near NZSO The Radio Network Tour: Soundscapes