Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Sun 28 Aug 2011, 3:00pm–5:00pm

Where: Wellington Town Hall, 111 Wakefield St, Wellington

Restrictions: All Ages

Related Artists:

Listed by: tuiclark

Presented by Wellington Chamber Music.

Dvorak Sextet in A, Op 48
Schulhoff Sextet (1920-24)
Brahms Sextet No 2 in G, Op 36 (Agathe)

This concert provides a programme of three of the many beautiful string sextets that are seldom heard in concert. Between Dvorak’s Sextet in A, a work with moments of poignant lyricism interspersed with dance-like energy, and Brahms’ romantic Sextet subtitled Agathe, we will hear a work by the remarkable Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff, whose early brilliance was cut short by his death in a Nazi concentration camp.

Members of the Aroha String Quartet join with two NZSO players, violist Lyndon Taylor and cellist Rowan Prior, to bring us this feast of glorious works. Acclaimed as demonstrating ‘accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity’ (Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of the finest ensembles at the forefront of New Zealand chamber music.

This concert will be held in the Ilott Theatre, Wellington Town Hall.

Restaurants to book near String Sextet Spectacular