You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
NZSM Orchestra: Tragedy


Sat 14 May 2011, 7:30pm

Where: St Andrews on the Terrace, 30 The Terrace, Wellington

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $21.00 ($20.00 + $1.00 fees)
  • Seniors / Students: $15.00
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale

The NZSM Orchestra, conducted by Kenneth Young.

Tchaikovsky: Romeo & Juliet
Britten: Passacaglia the Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto 1 (soloist: Martin Riseley)

The NZSM Orchestra will perform works by three composers who were in some way marginalised during their lifetimes. Their music reflects that marginalisation and the inherent tragedy.

However, the essence of their subsequent musical outpourings has a universal appeal which has the power to speak to us all in many ways, not simply within alignment to suggested programmatic ideas.

Tragedy is tragedy; and we have witnessed much of late. Tchaikovsky’s gorgeous tone poem depicting Shakespeare’s tragic and familiar tale is followed by excerpts from the opera, Peter Grimes, which propelled Benjamin Britten to international recognition in 1945. The composer described it as "a subject very close to my heart—the struggle of the individual against the masses. The more vicious the society, the more vicious the individual.”

The programme ends with Shostakovich’s powerful 1st Violin Concerto which reflects not just his own but Stalinist Russia’s fear and grief.

Adults $20, Seniors / Students $15

For more information, contact NZSM on (04) 463 5369 or email

Restaurants to book near NZSM Orchestra: Tragedy