Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Sun 15 Sep 2013, 5:00pm–7:00pm

Where: Raye Freedman Arts Centre, Silver Rd, Epsom, Auckland

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $35.00
  • Senior: $25.00
  • Student: $15.00
  • Child: $0.00 ($0.00)
  • Additional fees may apply


Concert number four Jazz Symphony.

George Crumb - Eleven Echoes of Autumn.
George Antheil - A Jazz Symphony.
Bohuslav Martinu - La Revue de Cuisine.
Franz Berwald - Septet.

Eleven Echoes of Autumn confirms George Crumb's reputation as a composer of hauntingly beautiful music, inspired by a line from Federico Garcia Lorca, "..and the broken arches where time suffers." George Antheil's Jazz Symphony is a sassy, virtuosic romp full of surprises that was deemed too radical to be included in Paul Whiteman's Experiment in Modern Music, for which it was commissioned.

Sticking with the wild and witty is Martinu's jazz ballet La Revue de Cuisine, in which the marriage of Pot and Lid is in danger of being broken up by Twirling Stick, with supporting performances by Broom and Dishcloth. Largely dismissed in his own lifetime, Franz Berwald is now considered one of the great Swedish composers. His Septet is a fine example of his original, inventive musical voice.

Restaurants to book near Jazz Symphony