Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Unitec Presents Balm In Gilead

When:

Wed 30 Oct 2013, 7:00pm–9:00pm
Thu 31 Oct 2013, 7:00pm–9:00pm
Fri 1 Nov 2013, 7:00pm–9:00pm
Sat 2 Nov 2013, 2:00pm–9:00pm
Sat 2 Nov 2013, 7:00pm–9:00pm

Where: Unitec Theatre, Entry 1, 139 Carrington Rd, Mt Albert, Auckland

Restrictions: R16

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $15.00
  • Concession (unwaged, seniors): $10.00
  • Students/Unitec grads: $5.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Related Artists:

Listed by: dejarees

Balm in Gilead
by Lanford Wilson directed by Jacque Drew
Performed by Unitec's graduating actors

Meet the losers who refuse to lose...

Balm in Gilead has been best described as Lanford Wilson's documentary homage to the lower depths of New York's Upper West side. Written in 1965, it is less a story, than a collection of characters, caught in a coffee shop, while the world revolves around them.

Based on the writer's own experiences eavesdropping on patrons of a neighbourhood diner, it is a raucous symphony of simultaneous conversations - interlocking, overlapping, rising and subsiding - as scenes develop out of them. These are the riff-raff, the bums, the petty thieves, the scum, the lost, the desperate, the dispossessed, the cool - spiralling in an endless whirlpool - just trying to keep their heads above water. They fight. They love. They survive. They live. Balm in Gilead is life itself, trapped in a play.

Performed by Unitec’s graduating third year actors directed by Jacque Drew.

Show times & dates:

Friday, 25 October 7pm
Saturday, 26 October 7pm
Sunday, 27 October 7pm
Tuesday, 29 October 7pm
Wednesday, 30 October 7pm
Thursday, 31 October 7pm
Friday, 1 November 7pm
Saturday, 2 November 2pm
Saturday, 2 November 7pm

Venue: Unitec Theatre, Entry 1, Carrington Rd, Mt Albert, Auckland

Cost: $15 Adults, $10 Concession (unwaged/seniors), $5
Tickets: Available from iTICKET.co.nz on 11 October.
Buy here: http://www.iticket.co.nz/events/2013/oct/balm-in-gilead
Running time: Approx 2 hours including interval
Rating: Suitable for mature audiences: Contains sex, drugs and roll & roll

Restaurants to book near Unitec Presents Balm In Gilead