You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
A Fateful Symphony


Thu 16 Oct 2014, 8:00pm

Where: Auckland Town Hall - Great Hall, 303 Queen St, CBD, Auckland

Restrictions: All Ages


Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra
The New Zealand Herald Premier Series

Carlos Miguel Prieto Conductor
Ning Feng Violin

Kenneth Young: New Work
Britten: Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

We open this concert with the first work written by Kenneth Young as the APO’s Composer-in-Residence.

Michael Hill International Violin Competition 2005 winner Ning Feng returns to Auckland to perform Britten’s arresting Violin Concerto. Composed in 1938-39, the piece shows a diverse array of influences, from Purcell to Prokofiev.

Mexican conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto, who has worked extensively throughout the Americas, leads the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s grand Symphony No.5. Tracing its way from a sombre opening to a triumphant finale, this much-loved work offers a joyous end to the concert.

Restaurants to book near A Fateful Symphony