Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Christopher's Classics: Canterbury Wind Quintet


Thu 23 Oct 2014, 8:00pm

Where: St Michael & All Angels Church, 84 Oxford Tce, Christchurch

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $40.00
  • Full-time student: $15.00
  • Additional fees may apply

10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.

Ross Harris – Jazz Suite
Samuel Barber – Summer Music
Charles Gounod – Petite Symphonie
Ferenc Farkas – Antique Hungarian Dances
Maurice Ravel – Le Tombeau de Couperin
Jim Parker – Mississippi Five

Tony Ferner (flute), Jenny Johnson (oboe), Ellen Deverall (clarinet), David Cox (horn), Selena Orwin (bassoon)

The Canterbury Wind Quintet will present a rich and lively mix of repertoire from the Romantic period and 20th century. The programme is a combination of works expressly written for this winning combination of wind instruments, with the addition of some superb arrangements of well-known pieces by Ravel and Gounod.

Samuel Barber’s joyous and ebullient Summer Music will be a major work in their programme, a piece which evokes the feelings of hot, lazy days interwoven with the vibrancy of youth. New Zealander Ross Harris’s Jazz Suite is fresh, vibrant and edgy, while Farkas’s Antique Hungarian Dances are inspired by a combination of yearning and lively folk melodies. Ravel’s beautiful and haunting Tombeau de Couperin suite was written to commemorate six of the composer’s friends killed in World War I, and the arrangement of Gounod's Petite Symphonie (originally written for nine winds) brings this little gem to life, arguably more so than the original! Finally, Jim Parker, the composer of the music for Midsomer Murders and Foyle’s War transports the listener to a swinging and spiritual New Orleans with his Mississippi Five.

Restaurants to book near Christopher's Classics: Canterbury Wind Quintet