Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Wed 5 Nov 2014, 10:00am–4:30pm
Thu 6 Nov 2014, 10:00am–4:30pm
Fri 7 Nov 2014, 10:00am–4:30pm
Sat 8 Nov 2014, 10:00am–4:30pm
Sun 9 Nov 2014, 10:00am–4:30pm

Where: Waikato Museum, 1 Grantham St, Hamilton, Waikato

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free

Listed by: Waikato Museum

Art for your attention

Art has evolved from wall-flower to party animal and offers the spectator the experience of phenomenon. Anything from solace and grief, expulsion and invitation, to secrecy and full disclosure - art requires us to have our wits about us. The 2014 National Contemporary Art Award remains ever part of this broader conversation of ‘art’, requiring of you only a moment of your consideration.

Sponsored by Ebbett Audi and Tompkins Wake, and managed by Waikato Museum.

This year’s judge is Simon Rees.

The 2014 National Contemporary Art Award finalists are:

Mia Hamilton - Wellington
Janna van Hasselt - Auckland
Edwards + Johann - Christchurch
Frances Hansen - Auckland
Ina Johann - Christchurch
Tao Wells - Wakefield
Mark Purdom (two entries) - Hamilton
Karyn Taylor - Auckland
Sophia Smolenski - New Plymouth
Simon Esling - Auckland
Caryline Boreham (two entries) – Auckland
Peter McLaren (two entries) - Dunedin
Anna Maxwell - Auckland
Natalie Guy - Auckland
Virginia Leonard - Auckland
Anton Maurer - Auckland
Paul Handley - Christchurch
Paul Maseyk – New Plymouth
Samantha Matthews - Port Chalmers
Paul V Johnston (two entries) - Auckland
Deanna Dowling - Wellington
Emil McAvoy - Auckland

James R Ford - Wellington
Sang Sool Shim and Keum Sun Lee - Auckland
Marie E. Potter - Auckland
Catherine Fookes - Auckland
Lorraine Rastorfer - Wellington
Henrietta Harris - Auckland
Sophie Bannan - Christchurch
Rachel Brooks - Whangaparaoa
Jonathan Lovering - Hataitai
Leanne Jackson - Kerikeri
Elsa Lye (two entries) - Hamilton
Talia Smith - Sunnyvale
Nell Nutsford - Auckland
Elke Finkenauer - Auckland
Kate Hill - Hamilton
Fiona Lenore - Auckland
Larissa Goodwin - Auckland
Laura Marsh - Tuakau
Karl Bayly - Hamilton
Kirsty Lillico - Wellington
Jennifer Mason - Auckland
Emilie Truscott - Wellington
Yoon Tae Kim - Auckland
Greg Chaston – Kapiti Coast
Michael Prosee - Auckland
Madeleine Child - Dunedin

The 52 artworks nominated as finalists will make up the 2014 award exhibition.

Restaurants to book near National Contemporary Art Award