Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
CSO: Sense Of Place


Sat 18 Apr 2015, 7:30pm

Where: Charles Luney Auditorium, St Margaret's College, 12 Winchester Street, Christchurch

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • A Reserve - Adult: $49.20 ($48.00 + $1.20 fees)
  • A Reserve - Concession: $44.07 ($43.00 + $1.07 fees)
  • B Reserve - Adult: $38.95 ($38.00 + $0.95 fees)
  • B Reserve - Concession: $33.83 ($33.00 + $0.83 fees)
  • Child: $18.45 ($18.00 + $0.45 fees)
  • $5 Donation: $5.12 ($5.00 + $0.12 fees)
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale

Listed by: michelle392

Originally composed as instrumental interludes between scenes for Benjamin Britten’s landmark opera Peter Grimes, the Four Sea Interludes are a fascinating evocation of the ever changing moods of the sea.

Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů’s Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra is a virtuosic tour-de-force that draws on a range of musical influences including jazz, tango and bohemian folk. Composed in 1943 shortly after Martinů emigrated to America, the concerto is a wonderful combination of soaring lyrical melodies and driving, syncopated rhythms.

The CSO is delighted to welcome back to Christchurch the captivating Silver Garburg Piano Duo. With performances in 50 countries across 5 different continents, the Silver Garburg Piano Duo is hailed as one of the leading piano duos performing today.

While undertaking a walking tour of Scotland, Mendelssohn was reputed to have been deeply moved by an evening twilight visit to the ruins of a chapel in the Holyrood Palace. Shortly after this experience he composed his third symphony which subsequently earned the nickname “the Scottish”. It is an atmospheric piece that has become widely regarded as Mendelssohn’s finest orchestral work.

Hamish McKeich - Conductor
The Silver Garburg Piano Duo
Benjamin Britten - Peter Grimes : Four Sea Interludes 
Bohuslav Martinu- Concerto for Two Pianos H.292
Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 3 op. 56 A minor “Scottish”

Pre-concert talk begins at 6.40pm.

Restaurants to book near CSO: Sense Of Place