You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
NZ U19 Rugby Tournament


Sun 27 Sep 2015, 11:00am–8:00pm
Wed 30 Sep 2015, 11:00am–8:00pm
Sat 3 Oct 2015, 11:00am–8:00pm

Where: Owen Delany Park, Centennial Drive, Taupo, Lake Taupo

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Finals Day Only: $5.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Listed by: ann2hr8

It is the second year of the Jock Hobbs Memorial National U19 tournament, a new tournament for young players that was launched in 2014. It will run from September 27 until October 3 at Owen Delany Park.

After the successful inaugural tournament last year, New Zealand Rugby is making this a regular on the rugby calendar in order to help develop emerging talent in the Under 19s age group.

New Zealand Rugby General Manager of Community and Provincial Rugby, Brent Anderson, said the tournament was integral to rugby development because it provides players with every reason to stay in the game and aim for higher honours, including their senior Provincial Union side and the New Zealand Under 20 squad for the World Rugby Under 20 Championship.

"This tournament is about providing a great pathway to equip our best young players to develop their skills for the next level of the game."

Anderson said it is also a great "viewing platform" for selectors to keep an eye on emerging talent, particularly after high school.

Used as a stepping stone, the U19 tournament includes 16 teams; 14 Provincial Union teams, an additional Auckland B side and a Heartland Unions side. Teams will compete across two divisions - Premiership and Championship - for the Graham Mourie Cup and the Michael Jones Trophy respectively.

Each squad will be made up of 25 players who currently play club rugby in their Provincial Union and who are under 19 as at 1 January 2015.

Key facts about the Tournament
- 400 players across 16 teams
- 14 teams representing each ITM Cup Provincial Union
- A second team from the Auckland Union, reflecting that Union's high playing numbers
- Heartland U19 team (combined team with at least one player from each of * the 12 Heartland Unions)
- Three match days (Sun 27 Sept, Wed 30 Oct & Sat 3 Oct)
- 24 matches (eight per match day)
- Matches live on SKY Sport
- All matches take place at Owen Delany Park, Taupo
- Free admission Sun 27 Sept and Wed 30 with a $5 per person charge on Finals Day Sat 3 Oct