Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
NZSO presents: Spirit of Anzac - Letters from the Front



All Ages


Listed by


Join your national orchestra for a moving tribute concert in honour of the Anzacs, who fought together at Gallipoli 100 years ago. In that Anzac spirit we collaborate with the Sydney Symphony to present two world premieres in near-simultaneous concerts.

In his Symphony No. 1, Kiwi composer Michael Williams sets to music soldiers’ letters from the Front. We also premiere Australian composer James Ledger’s work for choir and orchestra, War Music, with words by Paul Kelly.

Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man and Vaughan Williams’ Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis complete this special centenary concert as we anticipate the emotions and memories of Anzac Day.

Benjamin Northey - Conductor
Madeleine Pierard - Soprano
George Henare - Narrator
New Zealand Youth Choir

Copland - Fanfare for The Common Man
Michael Williams - Symphony No. 1
Letters From the Front (world premiere)
Vaughan Williams
Fantasia On a Theme By Thomas Tallis
James Ledger - War Music (world premiere)

Concert duration: 1 hr 25 (including interval)

Ticket Information
Single tickets for the 2015 Season are on sale from Monday 9 February 2015.

It only takes three concerts to become a Season Ticket holder and be entitled to an exclusive range of discounts and benefits.

Post a comment

Did you go to this event? Tell the community what you thought about it by posting your comments here!