You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!


Sat 19 Sep 2015, 9:30am
Sun 20 Sep 2015, 9:30am

Where: Ashley Forest, Forestry Road, Ashley, Rangiora, Waimakariri

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Sat $10 per person: $10.00
  • Sun $15 per person: $15.00
  • Weekend $20 per person: $20.00
  • Family $30: $30.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Listed by: teresah7w

The first running of the popular Ashley Forest Rally Sprint was held in 1979, which saw Steve Millen in a factory backed 2.3 Vauxhall Chevette win.

This meeting was staged over a downhill section before changing the year after to the 1.7 kilometre (55% uphill) course that has challenged competitors and thrilled spectators in the intervening years.
The first winner on the current circuit was the late John Woolf driving a Mazda RX3 with a winning time of 1.10.81.

From that time the magic minute has been the challenge for all prospective winners. This finally came in 1988 when Steve Millen’s brother Rod driving a four wheel drive Mazda RX7 won in a time of 59.14.

The late Kim Austin then became a regular in breaking the magic minute and his 1999 winning run of 56.57 in a 4WD Mitsubishi Starion V8 remains the course record.

Over the years winners have included national rally champions Neil Allport, Tony Teesdale, the late Possum Bourne and more recently Hayden Paddon together with other big names in the sport.