Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Oscar Dowling Album Release


Thu 27 Apr 2017, 9:00pm–12:00am

Where: Darkroom, 336 St Asaph Street, Christchurch

Restrictions: R18

Listed by: a59877e

Since the disbandment of his Auckland-based band New Gum Sarn in the summer of 2015, Oscar Dowling has found a voice of his own with his debut solo record Free and Easy, released on April 14th through Spunk Records, Banished Music and on cassette through Prison Tapes.

After catching the eye of Pitchfork with singles 'Ease My Passing' and album opener 'The Life' late last year, Dowling is now ready to showcase his full repertoire with Free and Easy. Recorded and mixed with Ben Lawson in Auckland, the album features local luminaries Steven Huf, Will Wood, Mason Fairey, and Sam Hamilton.

Dowling recalls: "Ben Lawson heard me play at my neighbour's wedding and later asked if I wanted some studio time at Red Bull. He gave me a week in between other projects and last minute I realised I didn't want to record solo and asked friends Steven Huf and Will Wood if they wanted to help me out. I'd seen both of them play with a lot of different people over the years and knew they could pull it off without much warning. I think we only practised 3 times."

Opening for Aldous Harding last month for a slew of shows across New Zealand, Dowling is now preparing to head back out on the road for a headline tour of all major NZ cities. Dowling says of touring; "The band has changed a lot over the last two years with nine or ten different members passing through. For a while each time I played a show I was teaching somebody the whole set a few days before. It's been a very disjointed project overall, but I feel like it's finally coming together into something more solid.”

Scorching his way through Australia last winter for a headline show at the Tote and feature performance at Spunk Rock 2, Dowling's latest incarnation plan to reconvene for another trip across the Tasman in the coming months.

Full track listing of Free and Easy is:
- The Life
- Ease My Passing
- Sally Free and Easy
- Human Connection
- Fair Weather Friend
- Cream and Peaches
- Low Moon
- The Circus
- Rotten Apple
- Motorway

Restaurants to book near Oscar Dowling Album Release