Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Small Sculpture Prize 2017


Thu 11 May 2017, 10:00am–4:00pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 10:00am–4:00pm
Sat 13 May 2017, 10:00am–4:00pm
Sun 14 May 2017, 10:00am–4:00pm
Mon 15 May 2017, 10:00am–4:00pm

Where: Waiheke Community Art Gallery, 2 Korora Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island, Auckland

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free

Listed by: Kim Wesney

The 2017 Small Sculpture Prize is proudly presented by Bayleys Waiheke in association with the Waiheke Community Art Gallery and Te Motu Vineyard. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The selector and judge this year is Zara Stanhope, Principal Curator at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki and Adjunct Professor AUT University, Auckland.

The Award is $3000.

The Wiinner of this year's Small Sculpture Prize is Karin Strachan for her work 'Sleeping Alone'. Wanda Gillespie was highly commended for her piece 'Boy'. Warm congratulations Karin and all the finalists. Dr. Zara Stanhope's Judges notes are available here.

The finalists this year were: Emerita Baik, Patrick Barry, Karl Baxter, Trish Campbell, Jonathan Campbell, Christine Cathie, Maria Colls, Bronwynne Cornish, Jonathan Cuming, Anah Dunsheath, John Ecuyer, Kate Elder, Wanda Gillespie, Natalie Guy, Fiona Lenore, Graeme Mackay, David McGill, Nicola Mclaren, Chris Mules, Sena Park, Michael Potter, Frances Rood, Deborah Rundle, Shelley Simpson, Karin Strachan, Dave Thomas, Janna Van Hasselt, Motoko Watanabe and Melissa Young.

Restaurants to book near Small Sculpture Prize 2017