Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Bach Magnificat - Chroma Chamber Choir


Sun 18 Nov 2018, 2:00pm–4:00pm

Where: Nelson Centre of Musical Arts, 48 Nile St, Nelson, Nelson / Tasman

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Premium: $40.00
  • Standard: $27.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Bach Magnificat: a programme of Renaissance and Baroque choral music.
Chroma Chamber Choir with chamber orchestra and soloists.

Conducted by: Pete Rainey

Chroma Chamber Choir, well-known for their precision, clarity and beautiful sound, present a programme of music celebrating the Advent.

The featured work is the magnificent twelve movement Magnificat, one of J S Bach’s best-loved choral works. The Magnificat is conceived on a grand scale, requiring five soloists, a five-part choir and, for its time, an unusually large orchestra consisting of three trumpets, two flutes, two oboes, strings and continuo.

For this performance soloists are mainly drawn from the choir demonstrating the depth of Chroma’s talent. In its splendour and jubilation the work anticipates the great choruses of the later Mass in B minor and is an exhilarating and innovative ride through swift contrasts, alive with freshness and vitality.

Opening the concert is the Spanish composer Victoria’s beautiful a capella O Magnum Mysterium, the only truly Renaissance piece of the programme. It unfolds serenely until the final Alleluia dances in triple time and, with a welter of running notes, comes grandly to a close.

This is followed by the sparkling and joyous antiphonal work Hodie Christus natus est by the Dutch composer Sweelinck whose work straddled the Renaissance and Baroque eras.

Chroma perform choruses from Cantata BWV 140 Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, (also known as Sleepers Wake) which is loved for its sensuous joy.

Also on the programme are the celebrated Jesus bleibet meine Freude (Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring) from Cantata BWV 147 Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben (Heart and Mouth and Deed and Life) and, played by the orchestra alone, the moving and richly melodic Air from Suite No.3 in D BWV 1068 (Air on the G string).

The concert concludes with Handel’s majestic Zadok the Priest.

This is a rare opportunity to hear Bach sung by a local choir and promises to be a real treat for lovers of Baroque music.