You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
He whakaputanga - The Declaration of Independence


Fri 26 Oct 2018, 2:30pm–3:00pm
Sat 27 Oct 2018, 10:30am–11:00am
Sat 27 Oct 2018, 2:30pm–3:00pm
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 10:30am–11:00am
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 2:30pm–3:00pm

Where: Te Ahumairangi Ground Floor, National Library, cnr Molesworth & Aitken Streets, Thorndon, Wellington

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free

Listed by: Joan McCracken

Take a free He Whakaputanga tour.

Join our skilled He Tohu learning team to learn about He Whakaputanga — The Declaration Of Independence (1835), a key document which helped shape Aotearoa, New Zealand.

He Whakaputanga New Zealand’s first constitutional document.
He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni, The Declaration Of Independence of New Zealand was debated, agreed upon and ultimately signed by 34 rangatira at Waitangi on 28 October, 1835, and later by another 18 chiefs from the north and elsewhere, through until 22 July 1939.

He Whakaputanga is New Zealand’s first constitutional document — a document that defines the existence of the nation, who is in control of it, and how it will be run. It is also one of the earliest assertions of Māori identity beyond separate iwi and hapū. The document marked steps toward a unified form of governance among the many different rangatira and their hapū and iwi.

The document is inseparable from the Treaty of Waitangi and the issues that shape Aotearoa New Zealand.

As Ngāpuhi elder Hone Sadler notes, ‘He Whakaputanga te matua, Te Tiriti te tamaiti — He Whakaputanga is the parent, Te Tiriti is the child.’

He Whakaputanga remains a taonga of great significance today.