You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults


Wed 8 Aug 2018, 6:30pm–8:00pm

Where: Te Papa Te Marae, 55 Cable Street, Wellington

Restrictions: All Ages Licensed

Ticket Information:

  • General Admission: $49.12 ($45.00 + $4.12 fees)
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale

These awards are a unique celebration of the contribution New Zealand’s children’s authors and illustrators make to building national identity and cultural heritage. On this night we celebrate finalists and announce winners!

The awards in the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are made in six categories: Young Adult Fiction (the Copyright Licensing NZ Award), Junior Fiction (the Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award), Non-Fiction (the Elsie Locke Award), Picture Book, Illustration (the Russell Clark Award) and the Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award (for books entirely written in Te Reo Māori).

Five finalists are selected for each category, and from these, a category winner is selected. All awards carry prize money of $7,500. In addition, the judges will award a best first book prize of $2,000 to a previously unpublished author or illustrator. The overall prize, the Margaret Mahy Book of the Year award, carries a prize of $7,500. The awards are judged by a panel of five. Te Kura Pounamu is judged by a separate panel of judges.

Restaurants to book near New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults