Sorry, this event’s been and gone
Pottery Intensive Weekend Course may be the upcoming event you’re looking for.
Pottery Intensive Weekend Course

When:

Sat 7 Apr 2018, 10:00am–3:00pm
Sun 8 Apr 2018, 10:00am–3:00pm
Sat 14 Apr 2018, 10:00am–1:00pm
Sat 5 May 2018, 10:00am–1:00pm

Where: Selwyn Community Education, 203 Kohimarama Road, Kohimarama, Auckland

Restrictions: R15

Ticket Information:

  • Course fee including materials: $196.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Listed by: SelwynComed

Selwyn Community Education is based at Selwyn College, Kohimarama, Auckland.

Each Pottery Intensive Weekend course runs over four separate days.

Courses start 7 April 2018, 16 June 2018 and 8 September 2018.

Courses run over three weekends. The first part of each course runs on a Saturday and Sunday 10am - 3pm. Then followup classes will run on two Saturdays 10am to 1pm to finalise glazing your pieces.

Course dates for 2018
Course 1: Saturday 7 April 10am - 3pm and Sunday 8 April 10am - 3pm. Glazing workshops Saturday 14 April 10am - 1pm and Saturday 5 May 10am - 1pm.

Course 2: Saturday 16 June10am - 3pm and Sunday 17 June 10am - 3pm. Glazing workshops Saturday 23 June 10am - 1pm and Saturday 30 June 10am - 1pm

Course 3: Satuday 8 September 10am - 3pm and Sunday 9 September 10am - 3pm. Glazing workshops Saturday 15 September 10am - 1pm and Saturday 22 September 10am - 1pm.

Course 4: Saturday 10 November 10am - 3pm and Sunday 11 November 10am - 3pm. Glazing workshops Saturday 17 November 10am - 1pm and Saturday 24 November 10am - 1pm.

About Weekend Pottery:
Ideal for beginners or those moderately experienced, this course introduces a range of clay forming and decorating techniques that will equip you to work independently at home. A range of hand building approaches, wheel throwing, slip trailing and press moulding are covered.

Your fee covers basic clay and materials costs as well as firing. Although this course is focused on technical skills, once you have mastered the basics you are encouraged to pursue your own creative direction as well.

Expected learning outcomes: on completion of the course you will be able to:
- use a range of hand-building techniques
- throw pots on a wheel
- decorate with slips, oxides and stains
- apply glazes

Matt is one of New Zealand's top award-winning potters, and is a dedicated and patient teacher. We also offer weeknight Pottery classes. Search eventfinder or our website for more information.

Our mission is to provide quality affordable and accessible lifelong learning opportunities for our community.

Restaurants to book near Pottery Intensive Weekend Course