Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Colin McCahon: Is This the Promised Land?

Ticket Information

  • AAG Members: $16.00 ea ($15.00 + $1.00 fees)
  • AAG Members Guest : $16.00 ea ($15.00 + $1.00 fees)
  • Non-Members: $22.50 ea ($20.00 + $2.50 fees)
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale

10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.




August 2020 marked the close of nationwide celebrations marking the centenary of one of this country’s most prominent and enduring visual artists. Everyone, it seems, has an opinion, a favourite period, or a memory of when they first saw one of his canvases, none more so that writer Peter Simpson who has devoted decades to the study of McCahon’s work. But who was the man, and what drove him to paint through the later decades of his career?

Join esteemed New Zealand writer Peter Simpson who will speak in conversation with Julia Waite, Curator New Zealand art, about his latest book, the sequel – COLIN MCCAHON: IS THIS THE PROMISED LAND? VOL.2 1960–1987

The book will be available to purchase, both online and in the Gallery Shop on the day of the event, and to be signed by the author after the Q&A. Please bring your copy along if you wish to get it signed.

This event has a limited capacity and will be contact traced via Eventfinda.

About the author:
Peter Simpson is the author of numerous critically acclaimed books, including 'Colin McCahon: The Titirangi Years, 1953–1959' (Auckland University Press, 2007), 'Bloomsbury South: The Arts in Christchurch 1933–1953' (Auckland University Press, 2016), and (most recently) a two-volume study of McCahon: 'There is Only One Direction, 1919-1959' (AUP 2019) and 'Is This the Promised Land? 1960-1987' (AUP, 2020). He received the Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement (non-fiction) in 2017.

Post a comment

Did you go to this event? Tell the community what you thought about it by posting your comments here!