Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

This event’s been cancelled
DSO Reflections - Vaughan Williams Oboe Concerto - CANCELLED: CANCELLED

Ticket Information

  • Adults: $48.00 each
  • Concession: $45.00 each
  • Student/Child: $15.00 each
  • Additional fees may apply


  • Sat 6 Jun 2020, 5:00pm–7:15pm
  • Sun 7 Jun 2020, 3:00pm–4:15pm


All Ages

Because of the uncertainties and restrictions resulting from COVID-19, it has become clear that the DSO is no longer able to present its 2020 International and Matinee Series concerts as advertised

Each of this programme’s works embodies their composer’s reflections on war or violent loss of life:

- Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin’s movements are each dedicated to the memory of one of his friends who died fighting in World War I.

- Vaughan Williams’ music is alternately contemplative and sinister reflecting how deeply his First World War experiences affected him.

- New Zealand composer Gareth Farr ‘s Le Temps est La Pluie is a threnody to those in the Pacific region adversely affected by nuclear testing.

- Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8 (transcribed by Rudolf Barshais as the ‘Chamber Symphony’ for strings) is dedicated ‘to the victims of fascism and war’.

Conductor Tianyi Lu continues her busy conducting schedule, with concerts in New Zealand, Australia, the UK, Lapland, the USA, Turkey, and Singapore.

Concerto soloist Thomas Hutchinson, the first New Zealander to win the prestigious 66th ARD competition in Munich in 2017, is now Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s Principal Oboist.

Tianyi Lu – Conductor
Thomas Hutchinson – Oboe

Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Vaughan Williams: Oboe Concerto
Gareth Farr: Le Temps est la Pluie
Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony

Post a comment

Did you go to this event? Tell the community what you thought about it by posting your comments here!