Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Walters Prize: Kōrero with the jury


Sat 15 May 2021, 11:00am–12:00pm

Where: Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, Cnr Kitchener and Wellesley Streets, CBD, Auckland

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free
10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.

The Walters Prize is Aotearoa New Zealand’s most significant contemporary art award. Established in 2002, this year will be the tenth iteration of the Walters Prize, which was conceived as a platform to foreground excellence in the visual arts.

The jury for this year’s prize met in February 2020 to select the four nominated artworks. Lockdowns meant we were unable to show the works last year, so we are thrilled to be doing so now.

Come and hear the jury discussing four artworks, selected for their outstanding contributions to contemporary art in New Zealand in the preceding two-year period.

The Walters Prize 2020 Jury Statement

‘Given the strength of art and exhibition practices at present, selecting four finalists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to contemporary art in this two-year period proved challenging. The work of this year’s finalists addresses how histories are experienced, recounted and kept alive in the present, intergenerational and ethical relationships, and the circulation of information through various media. The particularities of each project are distinct, each advancing contemporary practice materially, conceptually and spatially.’

Read the jury statement in full here:

Artists and artworks:
Mata Aho (Erena Baker, Sarah Hudson, Bridget Reweti and Terri Te Tau), nominated for AKA, 2019
Fiona Amundsen, nominated for A Body That Lives, 2018
Sonya Lacey, nominated for Weekend, 2018
Sriwhana Spong, nominated for Now Spectral, Now Animal, 2019/2020

Allan Smith, freelance curator/writer and senior lecturer, Elam School of Fine Arts, University of Auckland
Nathan Pohio, (Ngāti Māmoe, Ngāi Tahu), artist, assistant curator, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū
Melanie Oliver, former senior curator at The Dowse Art Museum, Lower Hutt, now curator, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū
Charlotte Huddleston, director, ST PAUL ST Gallery, Auckland University of Technology

Image credits:
Mata Aho, AKA, 2019
Fiona Amundsen, A Body That Lives, 2018
Sonya Lacey, Weekend, 2018
Sriwhana Spong, Now Spectral, Now Animal, 2019/2020

Restaurants to book near Walters Prize: Kōrero with the jury