Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

AYO - Auckland Youth Orchestra - Harlequin

Ticket Information

  • Adult: $28.12 ea ($25.00 + $3.12 fees)
  • Senior: $23.00 ea ($20.00 + $3.00 fees)
  • Student/Child: $10.25 ea ($10.00 + $0.25 fees)
  • Buy Tickets
10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.


All Ages

Phone Sales

Related Artists

Hear the Auckland Youth Orchestra, conducted by Antun Poljanich, performing:

Farquhar: Harlequin Overture
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G (soloist: Madeleine Xiao)
Shostakovich: Symphony No.9

Farquhar: Harlequin Overture
The concert opens with seven minutes of enjoyable, mischievous and melodic music composed in 1959 by NZ composer David Farquhar.

Ravel: Piano Concerto No.1 in G
Ravel composed this light-hearted and brilliant 20-minute concerto in 1929-1931 - it begins with a percussionist releasing the wound up spring of the slapstick. The impact of Ravel’s 1928 tour to America is evident with blues flavours permeating the first movement in particular.

Shostakovich - Symphony No.9
This symphony was written in 1945 when Russia was on the winning side of World War II. Everyone was expecting a triumphant, victorious composition to glorify Stalin’s regime but Shostakovich, who had been terrorised by that regime, risked everything by producing something quite different. One critic wrote, “What was Shostakovich counting on when, instead of creating in the Ninth Symphony the image of the victorious man, he created one of a carefree Yankee recklessly whistling a cheerful little tune?” Shostakovich managed to weather this storm politically, but he would not compose another symphony until after Stalin died!

The Soloist: PIANIST Madeleine Xiao
Seventeen-year-old Madeleine Xiao is a first-year student at the University of Auckland. She is currently under the tutelage of Rae de Lisle, Bryan Sayer and Katherine Austin. Madeleine has achieved numerous top awards and scholarships regionally and nationally. This year, she was a joint-winner of the AYO Piano Competition and is one of three finalists in the University of Auckland Concerto Competition, where she will be playing Chopin’s Piano Concerto in E Minor in September.

Apart from being a soloist, Madeleine is a passionate chamber musician and collaborative pianist. Her current chamber group, Kaha Trio, has been selected as an APO Aspiring Musicians Ensemble and performs regularly across Auckland and its wider regions. Madeleine also plays for several choirs and accompanies for events, such as the Big Sing and the ANZAC Day Dawn Service at the Auckland Museum this year.

People who liked this also checked out these events

Heritage Concerts - An enduring spirit

Heritage Concerts - An enduring spirit

Central City Library, CBD, Auckland

Thu  1 Sep 12:10pm

Post a comment

Are you going to this event, or would you like to? Let the community know what you're looking forward to most by posting your comments here!