Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

The Broken Heartbreakers

Genre: Pop

Country of Origin: New Zealand

The Broken Heartbreakers are a ‘folk-pop’ group based in Auckland, New Zealand. The group is based around the song-writing nucleus of John Guy Howell and Rachel Bailey.

Around 2002, much to his surprise, John began writing songs which could loosely be described as ‘country’. John knew Rachel from her previous recording work with Salon Kingsadore – he contacted her, and the core of the band was formed. The initial line-up also consisted of Ben Furniss (Surrealistic) and Matt Sandford (Salon Kingsadore). The band cut their teeth at the newly opened “Wine Cellar” in Auckland’s K Road. Further gigs followed and the people started to come. Their first album “Everyone’s Waiting for Their Darling” was recorded at Arch Hill Studios over a few weekends.

Sam Prebble (Bond Street Bridge Band) joined the group on mandolin - Matt took off overseas, Rick McShane (ex- Nudie Suits) sat in on the skins and Sonya Waters (White Swan/ Black Swan) entered the fray to contribute piano and keyboards.

The current national tour line-up consists of John, Rachel, Sam and the welcome additions of Mike Stoodle (ex-Verlaines) on bass guitar and Myles Allpress (Heavy Jones) on drums.