Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

McCormick Reigns Supreme at 2008 Body Art Awards

Tuesday 17 June 2008

Caroline McCormick walked away from this year’s NZ Body Art Awards with the North Shore City Supreme Award for her “Komodo Dragon” artwork.

The Auckland professional face painter also placed first equal – with herself – in the New World Hand Painted Body Art section with her second entry, “Jungle Boy.” Carmel stated afterwards she felt “incredibly lucky” to have picked up the top award.

Estela Shen, relatively new on the scene, showcased the bright future the industry has by picking up awards in two categories – Masquerade Mask and Creatures.

In other categories, Yolanda Bartram scooped the Air Brush Body Art award, while her mother Nicole Heydenrijk picked up the World of Fluorescent Illusion prize.

An overwhelming success, this year’s ceremony boasted a high calibre of entrants and themed more as an musical event rather than a catwalk style fashion show – which did not go unnoticed; Weta Workshop’s Richard Taylor stated that “the talent just continues to get better every year”



North Shore City Supreme Award: Carmel McCormick

Jerry Clayton BMW Best High Performance Model: Levi (model for Carmel McCormick's lizard)

Youthtown Best Emerging Artist: Kelly Zhong Ni Ren

New World Victoria Park Hand Painted Body Art
Winner: Carmel McCormick (first equal with two entries)
Special Commendation: Kelly Zhong Ni Ren

Air Brushed Body Art sponsored by Minifies Make-up
Winner: Yolanda Bartram
Special Commendation; Philip DuChard

Masquerade Mask sponsored by Xfacda
Winner: Estela Shen
Special Commendation: Tracy Trinder

Fantasy sponsored by Weta Workshop
Winner: Kym Stevenson
Special Commendation: Michele Perry

Creatures Sponsored by Weta Workshop
Winner: Estela Shen
Special Commendation: Andrea Hows

World of Fluorescent Illusion sponsored by idesign
Winner: Nicole Heydenrijk
Special Commendation: Dara Wakely

Prosthetic and Rubber Masks sponsored by Top Mark Products
Winner: Magdalena O'Connor
Special Commendation: Maria Wood

bWinner: Jennifer Savannah
Special Commendation: Kim Boyd

Te Puni Kokiri Ta Moko Maori
Winner: Hayley Marlow
Special Commendation: Bobby McDonald