S3 Pacific Music Awards Winners Announced

Tuesday 3 June 2008

Te Vaka and Scribe lead the list as Pacific music celebrates bumper year.

Te Vaka and Scribe have taken double honours at the S3 (pron: ess-cubed) Pacific Music Awards 2008 announced 31 May in Manukau City.

Te Vaka was honoured with the Radio 531pi Best Pacific Group award and the coveted Tui for the S3 Best Pacific Music Album for ‘Olatia’.

It’s the second Best Pacific Album award for the 11-piece band whose music is inspired by the Pacific Islands. Te Vaka took out the Tui award in 2004 for ‘Tutuki’.

To acknowledge the band’s Tui win, Te Vaka will also be honoured at the New Zealand Music Awards in October.

New Zealand’s leading hip hop artist, Scribe has taken out the NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award for his second album ‘Rhyme Book’.

Malo Luafutu (a.k.a Scribe) is also a co-winner with Tyra Hammond, Aaron Iusitini and Jordan Iusitini for ‘Say It Again’ (published by Mushroom Music) which has prevailed in the APRA Best Pacific Song category.

Other winners at the S3 Pacific Music Awards 2008 are:

- Cydel took out the award for Niu FM Best Pacific Urban Artist for ‘Soul Finder’

- Three Houses Down picked up the Manukau City Council People’s Choice Award – Best Pacific Artist.

- Lole takes out the Counties Manukau District Health Board – Smokefree Best Pacific Female Artist for ‘The Movement’.

- The Ministry Of Pacific Island Affairs Lifetime Achievement Award went to Sione ‘King of Ukulele’ Aleki.

- Singer, songwriter and producer Matthew Salapu Faiumu won The Phillip Fuemana Award.

Pacific Music Awards chairperson the Rev Mua Strickson Pua says the S³ Pacific Music Awards 2008 acknowledges the contribution of Pacific Music to the economies of New Zealand and our Pacific nations.

The audience was treated to dynamic live performances by Pacific music stalwarts and newcomers alike including Nesian Mystik, Three Houses Down, Cydel, Lole Usoalii, Julie Ta’ale, Kas Futialo and Vaniah Toloa.