Tiki and Liam Finn Lead Finalist List: Biggest Awards Ever

Tuesday 9 September 2008

Former Salmonella Dub front-man Tiki Taane dominates the finalists for the 2008 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards in a list that contains the country’s biggest names in music.

Tiki Taane is a finalist in six categories; Liam Finn picks up four spots while Flight of the Conchords, Shihad and The Phoenix Foundation grab three, and Scribe and Anika Moa two.

The finalists were announced on Monday at a function at Auckland’s Langham Hotel. The winning artists are set to be honoured at the biggest-ever event in the awards’ 43-year history when the red carpet is rolled out at Vector Arena, Auckland on 8 October.

The prestigious Nokia Album of the Year category includes Anika Moa (In Swings the Tide), Flight of the Conchords (Flight of the Conchords), Liam Finn (I’ll be Lightning), Scribe (Rhymebook), and Tiki Taane (Past, Present and Future).

Tiki Taane and Liam Finn are also finalists in the Vodafone Single of the Year category for their singles ‘Always on my Mind’ and ´Gather to the Chapel’ respectively.  Opshop (‘One Day’), Shihad (‘One will Hear the Other’) and The Phoenix Foundation (‘Bright Grey’) round off the category finalists.

Also announced Monday was the recipient of the second The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award – Straitjacket Fits.  The legendary Dunedin band will be officially honoured at the main awards ceremony and will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Awards spokesperson Campbell Smith says the finalists list reflects the continuing quality and diversity of New Zealand music.

“It is great to see a wide mix of established and newer artists named as finalists, once again recognising the depth and breadth of New Zealand music talent across the full range of genres.”

Also announced were the winners of Technical Awards. Tuis were presented for:

Best Album Cover to Barny Bewick of Indium Design for Keep Me On Your Side (Goodnight Nurse)
Best Engineer to Lee Prebble of The Surgery for Happy Ending (The Phoenix Foundation)
Best Producer to Lee Prebble of The Surgery for Happy Ending (The Phoenix Foundation)

“It’s important that we acknowledge the team of people instrumental in recording the music, packaging it and getting it out to music fans,” Smith says. “Lee Prebble has been a valuable contributor to New Zealand music for some time now, and Barny Berwick’s cover artwork is a real standout.”

Smith says the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards’ move to Vector Arena reflects the growth in New Zealand music and results in the biggest-ever Tuis presentation. The bigger space provides room for thousands more music fans, a designated mosh pit, and a huge stage – all making for a greater spectacle.

“One of the biggest advantages of this move is that we will be able to accommodate so many more fans than we have been able to previously. And that is what this event is about – celebrating New Zealand music and involving everyone who has contributed to its success including the fans,” Smith says.

The Tuis presented at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2008 ceremony are:
Nokia Album of the Year, Vodafone Single of the Year, Steinlager Pure Best Group, Best Male Solo Artist, Mazda Best Female Solo Artist, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, C4 Best Music Video, Vodafone People’s Choice, PPNZ Best Rock Album, Best Urban / Hip Hop Album, Best Aotearoa Roots Album, Best Dance / Electronica Album, Best Maori Album, Best Gospel / Christian Album, Best Classical Album

No finalists are announced for the Highest Selling NZ Single, Highest Selling NZ Album and the New Zealand on Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year awards. These, along with the International Achievement award – which is judged by the RIANZ Board and awarded at the Board’s discretion – will be announced at the main awards on 8 October.

After an extended period of voting, thousands of New Zealanders nominated their top five artists for the Vodafone People's Choice Award.  The five finalists are Antiform, Horsemen Family, Nesian Mystik, Parachute Band, and The DFenders.

For the final round of voting, people can cast two votes for their favourite artist, one online at www.vnzma.co.nz and one by TXTing VOTE[space]Artist Name to 787.

Public tickets to the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards cost just $47 including booking fee and available exclusively through ticketek. Tickets are on sale from Monday 8 September.

For more information about the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards go to www.vnzma.co.nz