Yeah Yeah Yeahs To Release New Album

Friday 13 February 2009

Ready yourself! The third studio album from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs entitled It’s Blitz! is set for release in New Zealand this April.

The follow-up to 2006’s acclaimed Show Your Bones, It’s Blitz! is the first full-length album from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs in three years. New York trio Karen O, Nick Zinner and Brian Chase will unveil their all-new & more experimental sound when the lead single “Zero” goes out to radio on 23 February.

It’s Blitz! features 10-tracks and was recorded in numerous rural locations across the US countryside; from El Paso's 1,700 acre Sonic Ranch studio to a dairy farm in Massachusetts. The trio worked with two producers on the new album: long-term producer TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek (who did the production of the last two LP’s) and Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Talking Heads, INXS) who worked on the Is Is EP.

Producers aside, the band didn't do everything the same in the recording process. Bound to rustle a few feathers, the band has taken an experimental approach, for one thing you’ll find guitarist Nick Zinner playing a whole lot of vintage synths on this release.

The album also features a few special guests including Bird and the Bee maestro producer Greg Kurtsin, TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone, and saxophonist Stuart Bogie (Antibalas) among others.

According to the band, It's Blitz! was inspired by the '70s disco collaborations between Italian producer Giorgio Moroder and R&B songstress Donna Summer, Joy Division, and, well, Karen O's love of dancing.

It’s Blitz! is not much like anything you've heard from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs before. But does it still sound like the band we have come to love?

You bet your sweet ass it does!