Taite Music Prize Finalists Announced

Thursday 19 February 2015

Taite Music Prize Finalists Announced

The finalists for the prestigious Taite Music Prize have been announced and include Kimbra, Tami Neilson, Delaney Davidson and Tiny Ruins.

Jakob, Grayson Gilmour, Mulholland, @Peace, Electric Wire Hustle and Aldous Harding make up the rest of the ten finalists, in what will be a tough call for the judges.

It is the third nomination in three years for @Peace, who are up for their album @Peace and the Plutonian Noise Symphony.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, a legendary music journalist, the award aims to "recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album". 

Lorde won the prize in 2014 for her album Pure Heroine, and opted to share her prizewinnings of $10,000 and time at Red Bull Studios.

Now in its sixth year, other past winners are Lawrence ArabiaLadi6, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and SJD.

2015 Finalists:
@peace – ‘@peace and the Plutonian Noise Symphony’ (Young, Gifted and Broke)
Aldous Harding - ‘Aldous Harding’ (Lyttleton Records/Flying Out)
Delaney Davidson – ‘Swim Down Low’ (Outside Inside)
Electric Wire Hustle – ‘Love Can Prevail’ (EWH Ltd. / Okayplayer Records)
Grayson Gilmour – ‘Infinite Life!’ (Flying Nun Records)
Jakob - ‘Sines’ (Shoot The Freak)
Kimbra – ‘The Golden Echo’ (Warner Brother Records)
Tiny Ruins – ‘Brightly Painted One’ (Arch Hill Recordings/Spunk Records)
Mulholland – ‘Stop & Start Again’ (Mulholland)
Tami Neilson – ‘Dynamite’ (Neilson Records)