Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

Hamish Parkinson Wins Billy T Award

Monday 18 May 2015

Hamish Parkinson Wins Billy T Award

Comedian Hamish Parkinson has won the Billy T Award, awarded at the Last Laughs event last night at SkyCity Theatre.

Each year the iconic Yellow Towel is presented to an up and coming New Zealand comedian with outstanding potential.

The Yellow Towel award is based on one of Billy T James' most notable sketches. Hamish Parkinson also receives a $4000 cash grant from the NZ Comedy Trust a spot on TV3’s 7 Days, a poster design by Steve Grant Design, Huffer clothing voucher and a campaign on The Rock FM.

The five nominees for the 2015 Billy T Award were; Tim Batt, Eli Matthewson, Hamish Parkinson, Nic Sampson and Matt Stellingwerf.

Also announced last night was the FRED Award, which was presented to Dai Henwood.

Henwood received the renowned golden gumboot and a $7,500 prize package including; a cash grant of $2500 from the New Zealand Comedy Trust, a Soar printing voucher, and advertising campaigns with More FM and The Dominion Post.

The FRED Award is named in honour of comedy icon John Clarke’s legendary Kiwi character Fred Dagg. It recognises the Festival's Best Show by a New Zealand comedian.

Other 2015 nominees for The FRED Award were Jamie Bowen and Urzila Carlson.

Other winners from last night’s award ceremony include:
Best International Show – Nish Kumar
Best Newcomer (Auckland) – Chris Parker
Best Newcomer (Wellington) – Abby Howells (Glocknid Dwarf Warrior)