Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Murder, They Wrote | Paddy Richardson and Liam McIlvanney


Sat 7 Nov 2020, 2:00pm–3:00pm

Where: Sherwood, 554 Frankton Road, Queenstown

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • General Admission: $16.38 ($15.00 + $1.38 fees)
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale

10 weekly payments.
No interest, no fees.

That's it! We manage automatic weekly payments until you're paid off. Full purchase details can be viewed anytime online.

You will need

  • To be over 18 years old
  • Visa/Mastercard payment
  • NZ drivers licence or passport
  • First instalment paid today
Learn more about how it works. Credit criteria applies. Weekly payments will be automatically deducted. Failed instalments incur a $10 charge. See our Terms & Conditions for more information.

Two award winning crime novelists discuss their work.

Paddy Richardson is the author of two collections of short stories, Choices and If We Were Lebanese and seven novels, The Company of a Daughter, A Year to Learn a Woman, Hunting Blind, Traces of Red, Cross Fingers, Swimming in the Dark and Through the Lonesome Dark. Traces of Red and Cross Fingers were long-listed for the Ngaio Marsh Crime Fiction Award and Hunting Blind and Swimming in the Dark were short listed. Paddy has been awarded Creative New Zealand Awards, the University of Otago Burns Fellowship, the Beatson Fellowship and the James Wallace Arts Trust Residency Award. In 2019, she was awarded the Randell Cottage residency in Wellington where she spent 6 months writing her latest novel to be published in 2021. Most recently she has been one of the two selected virtual Writers in Residence at the Norwich Writers and Readers Festival in Norwich, UK.

Liam McIlvanney was born in Ayrshire and studied at the universities of Glasgow and Oxford. He is the inaugural Stuart Professor of Scottish Studies and Co-Director of the Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies at the University of Otago. He has written for numerous publications, including the London Review of Books, the Times Literary Supplement and the Guardian. His debut, Burns the Radical, won the Saltire First Book Award in 2002. He won the 2014 Ngaio Marsh Award for his second novel, Where the Dead Men Go. His most recent novel, The Quaker, won the 2018 McIlvanney Award for Scottish Crime Book of the Year. In 2019 he received a Waitangi Day Honour from the New Zealand Society of Authors.

This event will take place in the Workshop Room at the Sherwood. The Workshop Room is located behind Reception.

Queenstown Writers Festival
5 – 8 November 2020
Celebrating words, literature and reading in the Queenstown Lakes