Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Aroha String Quartet with Oleksandr Gunchenko (Double Bass)

Ticket Information

  • General Admission/Koha: $0.00 each ($0.00)
  • Eventfinda tickets no longer on sale


  • Fri 12 Jul 2024, 5:30pm–7:00pm


All Ages


Our programme begins with the String Quintet No 15 in C minor Op 38 'The Bullet' by French composer George Onslow. In this work, the composer dramatically depicts a hunting accident in which he was almost killed, and his subsequent recovery. It is followed by the atmospheric 'Swim the Sliding Continents' by Auckland composer Louise Webster and Dvorak's richly Romantic String Quintet No 2 in G.

Entry to this concert is by koha/donation.

The Aroha String Quartet
Acclaimed as demonstrating "accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity" (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles. Founded in 2004, this versatile Wellington-based quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovation.

Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin are original members of the Aroha Quartet. Robert Ibell joined the group in 2009 and Konstanze Artmann in 2018. The Aroha Quartet is committed to presenting string quartet works from western classical and avant-garde repertoire to traditional Chinese folk music, as well as works for larger forces through collaborations with numerous high-profile musicians. The Aroha Quartet performs regularly around NZ in centres from the Deep South to the Far North. In 2014 they performed five concerts as part of Chamber Music New Zealand's Kaleidoscope series.

Overseas trips have seen them participate in the prestigious International Summer Academy in Austria in 2010, give concerts and masterclasses in China in 2010 and 2013, and perform at the Huntington Music Festival in Australia in 2011. The Aroha Quartet runs the annual ASQ International Music Academy, a week-long chamber music course. The tenth ASQ Academy takes place in Wellington in July 2024. The Quartet's fourth ASQ International Academy in Asia took place in Zhongshan, China, in late January 2024.

Oleksandr Gunchenko - double bass
Oleksandr Gunchenko was born in Kiev, Ukraine, where he studied at Lysenko School of Music and Tchaikovsky Conservatory. He became a member of the National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra at the age of 19 and at the age of 20 gained a position with the National Chamber Orchestra of Ukraine.

In 1999 Oleksandr immigrated to New Zealand where he joined Christchurch Symphony and took the position of Associate Principal Double Bass section in 2002. He completed Bachelor of Music degree with First Class Honours at the University of Canterbury with Dale Gold and Edith Salzmann.

Oleksandr joined the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra as a section Double Bass player in 2007. In 2011, Alexander was invited to study with Jeff Bradetich at the Pirastro Strings Elite Soloists Masterclasses. He is a member of the contemporary ensemble ‘Stroma’, and also regularly performs solo recitals.

People who liked this also checked out these events

Ōtari Glowworm Tour

Ōtari Glowworm Tour

Ōtari-Wilton’s Bush, Wellington

Fri  2 Aug 7:00pm  – more dates

Experience Wellington and Win

Experience Wellington and Win

Wellington Museum, Wellington

Thu 11 Jul 10:00am  – more dates

Post a comment

Did you go to this event? Tell the community what you thought about it by posting your comments here!