Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

Ladyhawke, Midnight Youth & Smashproof Dominate NZ Music Awards

Friday 9 October 2009

Pop sensation Ladyhawke has taken home six Tuis at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, including the prestigious Tuis for Vodafone Single of the Year and Vodafone Album of the Year.

The Masterton-born, UK-based singer carried off Tuis for Vodafone Single of the Year, Vodafone Album of the Year, International Achievement, Mazda Best Female Solo Artist, Pacific Blue Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Best Dance/Electronica Album.

The debut album from Ladyhawke, whose off-stage name is Pip Brown, has gone gold in the UK, Australia and New Zealand and reached number 16 on the UK album chart.

Other big winners were Midnight Youth and Hip Hop trio Smashproof. Midnight Youth took home awards for Steinlager Pure Best Group and PPNZ Best Rock Album while Smashproof picked up Tuis for C4 Best Music Video (director Chris Graham), Highest Selling NZ Single and Vodafone People’s Choice.

Legendary 60s group Ray Columbus and The Invaders has been honoured for its contribution to New Zealand Music, receiving the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award and being inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.  The band took the country by storm in the 1960s and was the first winner of a New Zealand Music award for its hit Til We Kissed.

The Mint Chicks performed a version of the Invaders’ hit She’s a Mod and simultaneously the Mint Chick’s recording of the song was released as a digital single to raise money for the Raukatauri Music Therapy Centre.

The show can be seen on TV3 on Saturday 10 October at 10.30pm

Tuis also went to:
Best Male Solo Artist:  Savage

42Below Best Urban / Hip Hop Album:  Ladi 6 for Time is Not Much

Kiwi FM Best Aotearoa Roots Album: Fat Freddy’s Drop for Dr Boondigga and the Big BW.

Best Gospel / Christian Album:  Mumsdollar for Ruins

Best Classical Album:  David Brember for Gung Ho.

Highest Selling NZ Album: the feelers – The Best: 1998-2008

NZ on Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year: Tiki Taane – Always On My Mind

International Achievement: Ladyhawke and Brooke Fraser